Raiders have 3 players make top all-district team

Published 8:36 am Wednesday, January 2, 2019

Three Pine Raiders are first-team all-district 9-2A players this season.
Wide receivers Jordan Anderson and Markel Cotton and linebacker Dakota Brooks are on the top team. Cotton and Anderson are also second-team defensive backs.
This season, including the playoffs, Anderson caught 54 passes for 1,043 yards (19.3 yards per reception) and 12 touchdowns.
Cotton made 40 receptions for 701 yards (17.5) and five scores.
Brooks made 87 tackles, five sacks and three sacks this year.
The rest of Pine’s second-team players are quarterback Logan Temples, running back Adrianuen Johnson, offensive lineman Larry Williams, linebacker Drake Westmoreland and flex Jaheim Williams.
Temples threw for 2,123 yards and 18 touchdowns on 110-of-198 (55.5 completion percentage). Williams is also an all-district honorable mention running back.
Johnson ran for 678 yards on 103 attempts (6.5) and six touchdowns.
Besides Williams, Pine’s all-district honorable-mention players are offensive linemen Jonathan Shelby, Jyrais Robinson and Jakari Hart, athlete Logan Leger and defensive linemen Trystan Bankston and Jonkez Dillon.
Pine reached the playoffs as the ninth-seeded team, but suffered a 36-32 loss to No. 24 Independence, 36-32, in the first round. Independence reached the second round.
Amite’s Cam Henderson, who is a first-team athlete and first-team returner, is the offensive Most Valuable Player. Teammates Ishmael Sopsher and Devonta Lee are co-defensive MVPs. Sopher is a first-team defensive lineman while Lee is a first-team defensive back and a first-team wide receiver.
Amite, the No. 2 seed, captured the Class 2A state title with a 47-20 win over fifth-seeded Welsh.
The first-team quarterback is Amite’s Amani Gilmore with Amite’s Corey McKnight, Independence’s Tyrrick Harness and St. Helena College and Career Academy’s Corey Leblanc at running back. McKnight is a first-team defensive flex.
The offensive linemen are Amite teammates Hezekiah Neason and Dakota Cox, Northlake Christian School’s Jacob Herrington and St. Helena teammates O’Cyrus Torrence and Alex Self. Herington and Torrence are also first-team defensive linemen. Self is also a second-team defensive lineman.
Springfield’s Beau Husser is the tight end.
Besides Anderson and Cotton, the wide receivers are Amite’s Kyle Maxwell and St. Thomas Aquinas’ Adam Hetzinger.
Pope John Paul II’s Logan Klotz is the first team kicker and punter.
Also at first-team defensive lineman is Amite’s Shemar Buckley.
Besides Brooks, the rest of the first-team linebackers are Amite’s Qadry Jackson, Independence’s Andre Walker and St. Helena teammates Darrien Pea and Jelinei Earlycutt.
The rest of the defensive backs are St. Thomas Aquinas’ Devin White, Matthew Claiborne and Independence’s Deangelo Gaines. Claiborne is a second-team athlete. Gaines is a second-team quarterback.
Moving to second team, besides Johnson, Springfield’s John L’Fryson and St. Thomas’ Antron Dillon are the running backs.
Besides Williams, the second-team offensive linemen are Amite’s Rueben Richardson and Dominic Lange, Independence’s Jacob McDowell and St. Helena teammates Drevieon Hitchen and Brant Muse and Amite’s James McGowan is the second-team tight end. Muse is also a second-team defensive lineman.
The wide receivers are Independence’s Ravorius Hampton, Northlake Christian’s Titus Dillon, St. Helena’s Shern Martin and St. Thomas Aquinas’ Casey Artigues. Hampton is also a second-team linebacker.
St. Thomas’ Adam Hetzonger is the second-team kicker and punter.
The rest of the second-team defensive linemen are Amite’s Larry Woolridge and Northlake’s Emmanuel Powell.
Besides Westmoreland and Hampton, the rest of the second-team linebackers are Amite’s Qabari Jackson, Springfield’s Nicholas Maclusa and Northlake Christian’s Jackson Picone.
Besides Cotton and Anderson, the second-team defensive backs are Amite’s Dauan Branch and St. Helena College and Career Academy’s Tim Hill.
Springfield was the 31st-seeded team in the Class 2A state playoffs, but lost to Amite in the first round, 51-0.
Independence lost to quarterfinalist eighth-seeded Vidalia in the second round.
Northlake Christian School, St. Thomas Aquinas and Pope John Paul II made the Division III playoffs and all three lost in the first round.
No. 11 St. Thomas Aquinas suffered a 48-0 to sixth-seeded and state runner up Catholic of New Iberia, 48-0.
No. 12 Northlake Christian was defeated by fifth-seeded and semifinalist Isidore Newman, 40-7.
No. 13 Pope John Paul II lost to quarterfinalist fourth-seeded Calvary Baptist, 31-28.