Citizens qualify for local races

Published 5:10 pm Friday, July 20, 2018

Qualifying has been completed for Washington Parish citizens who wish to run in local races in the Nov. 6 municipal election.

Those who have qualified, according to unofficial records from the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office as of 5 p.m. Friday, include the following:

  • Bogalusa Mayor — Brian McCree, James “Mack” McGehee, Wendy O’Quin-Perrette, “Tina” Ratliff, “Doug” Ritchie.
  • Bogalusa City Prosecutor — David Merlin Duke.
  • Bogalusa City Council, At-Large (two seats) — Scott Richard Ard, Robin Day, Penny Douglas, “Teddy” Drummond.
  • Bogalusa City Council, District A — Virginia Dunn, Gloria W. Kates, Alexis Keys.
  • Bogalusa City Council, District B — Danielle Magee-Keys, Tamira Moss Smith.
  • Bogalusa City Council, District C — Oneita H. Graham, Malcom D. Moses, Keosha Rawls, Shelby C. Temples.
  • Bogalusa City Council, District D — Paul Barber, “Kenny” Kellis, T.A. “Foots” Quinn.
  • Bogalusa City Council, District E — Mark Irvine, John Richard McNabb.
  • Parish Council, District 5 — Thomas R. “Rusty” Fornea, Mike Garic, Randy Thomas.
  • Parish School Board, District 1 — Daniel “Dan” Slocum.
  • Parish School Board, District 2 — John E. Wyble.
  • Parish School Board, District 3 — Bruce L. Brown Sr.
  • Parish School Board, District 4 — Kendall McKenzie.
  • Parish School Board, District 5 — Robert W. Boone.
  • Parish School Board, District 6 — Dewitt Perry.
  • Parish School Board, District 7 — Lee Alan McCain.
  • Parish School Board, District 8 — Frankie Crosby, Matthew Tate.
  • Parish School Board, District 9 — Lesley McKinley.
  • Bogalusa School Board, District 1 — Paul D. Kates.
  • Bogalusa School Board, District 2 — Eleanor W. Duke.
  • Bogalusa School Board, District 3 — Justin P. Arnold Sr., Willie “Toni” Breaux.
  • Bogalusa School Board, District 4 — Travis Houston, Adam Kemp.
  • Bogalusa School Board, District 5 — “Curtis” Creel, “Tiye Yayu” Square-LeVias, “Kay Kay” Varnado.
  • Bogalusa School Board, District 6 — Richard “Ricky” Killingsworth, Susan Catha Penton.
  • Bogalusa School Board, District 7 — Dustin Mitchell, Brad Williams.

Qualifiers in state races that will also be on the Washington Parish voting ballot include:

  • Louisiana Secretary of State — Kyle Ardoin (Republican-Baton Rouge), Heather Cloud (Republican-Turkey Creek), “Gwen” Collins-Greenup (Democratic-Clinton), A.G. Crowe (Republican-Pearl River), “Rick” Edmonds (Republican-Baton Rouge), Renee Fontenot Free (Democratic-Baton Rouge), Thomas J. Kennedy III (Republican-Metairie), Matthew Paul “Matt” Moreau (No party-Zachary), Julie Stokes (Republican-Metairie).
  • U.S. House of Representatives, 5th District — Ralph Abraham (Republican-Archibald), Billy Burkette (Independent-Pride), Jessee Carlton Fleenor (Democratic-Loranger), Kyle Randol (Libertarian-Monroe).
  • Associate Justice Supreme Court, 1st District — Richard Ducote (Republican-Covington), Greg Guidry (Republican-New Orleans).