Early voting opens

Published 4:32 am Saturday, September 30, 2017

Washington Parish voters will have the opportunity to go to the polls early this year, starting Saturday, Sept. 30.

Early voting for the Saturday, Oct. 14, election begins this Saturday and will continue through Saturday, Oct. 7, with the exception of Sunday, Oct. 1. Early voting hours are from 8:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. at all locations.

In Bogalusa, early voting will be held at the Northshore Technical Community College’s Sullivan Drive campus. In Franklinton, early voting will be held at the Registrar of Voters office in the Washington Parish Courthouse.

Local races include two open positions in the 22nd Judicial Circuit Court, and all voters will also be able to cast their ballot for state treasurer. In addition, some parish voters will be asked to vote on fire district millage issues.

Running for the District E judge seat are Jay Adair of Mandeville and William H. Burris of Franklinton. Running for the District H judge seat are Reginald Laurent of Slidell and Alan Zaunbrecher of Covington.

Both seats opened recently. Judge William Burris of Division E announced his retirement, and Judge Allison Penzato of Division H left after she was elected to the Louisiana Court of Appeal, First Circuit.

Voters will also be choosing who will replace former state treasurer John N. Kennedy, who was elected to the U.S. Senate in 2016. Ron Henson currently serves as interim state treasurer.

There are six candidates for state treasurer on the Oct. 14 ballot. In none of the candidates earns more than 50 percent of the vote, there will be a runoff election between the top two candidates in November.

The people running for treasurer are Derrick Edwards of the Democratic Party, Joseph Little of the Libertarian Party and four Republican Party candidates — Angele Davis, Terry Hughes, Neil Riser and John Schroder.