Jackie M. Smith

Published 9:35 am Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Jackie Magee Smith, 83, a lifelong resident of Mt. Hermon, died Monday, Sept. 14, 2015, at her home.

She graduated with her bachelor’s degree from LSU and her master’s degree from USM, which led to her career as the food service supervisor for the Washington Parish School Board.

Jackie was an active member of Mt. Hermon Baptist Church, where she taught the women’s “Deborah” Sunday school class and was always very involved with the children’s ministry, serving on the board for many years as well as chairman.

She loved spending time with her family, especially her young grandchildren and great-grandchildren, and enjoyed feeding and hosting her family for gatherings as often as she could. Jackie also enjoyed gardening and will be remembered as a die-hard LSU Sports fan.

She is survived by: a son and daughter-in-law, Richard and Becky Foley of Sunny Hill; two daughters and a son-in-law, Barbara and Brad Kerbow of Mt. Hermon, and  Lynn McMillan of Pikeville, Tenn.; six grandchildren and spouses, Michael and Amanda Foley, Amanda Lynn and Colby Coleman, Tabitha and Chris Taylor, Christopher Kerbow and Madeline Hernandez, Brandie Kerbow and fiancé Billy Todd Morris, and Destin Kelly; 14 great-grandchildren; two sisters, Frances Miller and Wilkie Magee, both of Mt. Hermon; two brothers, Ray Magee and Russell Magee, both of Mt. Hermon; and a sister-in-law, Shirley O’Conner of Slidell. She is also survived by numerous nieces, nephews and other family members.

She was preceded in death by her husband, Wendell W. Smith; her parents, Albert Ray Magee and Cleo Foil Magee; son-in-law, Glenn McMillan; brother-in-law, Harold Miller; and recently by sister-in-law, Ann Magee.

Visitation will be at Crain Funeral Home on Wednesday, Sept. 16, from 5 p.m. until 9 p.m., and after 9 a.m. Thursday. A funeral service will be held at 11 a.m. Thursday in the funeral home chapel with Dr. Joe Baugh officiating. Burial will follow in the Magee Cemetery at Sunny Hill.

Pallbearers will be Michael Foley, Christopher Kerbow, Destin Kelly, Chris Taylor, Colby Coleman, Billy Todd Morris, Steve Miller and Tim Magee.