Local, statewide elections on Saturday ballot

Published 8:34 am Friday, December 5, 2014

Washington Parish voters take to the polls again on Saturday to vote for issues ranging from U.S. Senator on down to proposals regarding millages for fire districts.

On the national scene, incumbent U.S. Sen. Mary Landrieu, a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican candidate Bill Cassidy. Landrieu edged out Cassidy by approximately 16,000 votes in the primary. Landrieu had 42 percent, while Cassidy had 41 percent to force the runoff.

In the runoff for U.S. representative for the Fifth Congressional District, Monroe Mayor Jamie Mayo is pitted against Ralph Abraham. Mayo is a Democrat, while Abraham is running as a Republican. Mayo came in first in the November primary with 28 percent of the vote. Abraham tallied 23 percent.

Current Louisiana Public Service Commissioner Eric Skrmetta is challenged in the runoff by Forest Wright. Both are Republicans. Wright nipped Skrmetta in the primary. He received 38 percent of the vote while Skrmetta received 37 percent.

Two Republicans meet in the runoff for district attorney for the 22nd Judicial District Court, which covers both Washington and St. Tammany parishes. Lacombe’s Brian Trainor had 38,225 votes and 38 percent of the votes cast in the primary. He faces Covington’s Warren Montgomery, who had 24,014 votes for 25 percent.

Incumbent City Court Marshal for the city of Bogalusa John Sumrall Jr., a Democrat, faces off against fellow Democrat Willie Yarbrough. Sumrall received 37.3 percent of the vote during the last election. Yarbrough received 23.6 percent of the votes cast.

Three Bogalusa City Council races are also on the ballot.

District A incumbent Penny Williams faces Gloria Kates. Williams led last month with 43.6 percent, while Kates managed 37.5 percent of the vote.

District B will have a new representative since Michael O’Ree did not seek reelection. Tamira Moss-Smith managed 38.4 percent in November. She is being challenged by Justin Arnold, who had 26.7 percent of the vote.

District E runoff participants are Sherry Fortenberry and Edward Sartin Sr. Fortenberry led the field in the primary with 32.3 percent, while Sartin had 24.8 percent, Fortenberry had 134 votes to Sartin’s 103.

Voters will be asked to decide on whether Washington Parish Fire District No. 7 should receive a tax renewal of five mills for a period of 10 years. And also whether the district should get a special tax of four mills for a period of 10 years. Also, Washington Parish Fire District No. 1 is asking voters to approve the issuance of $425,000 in bonds.