Parish School Board OK’s allocations to schools

Published 8:37 am Monday, November 17, 2014

The Washington Parish School Board approved designated allocations to schools during Thursday’s meeting.

The board approved paying $248,075 for the second allocation to schools for the 2014-2015 operations budget. The allocation included paying $45 per elementary and pre-K student and $50 per high school student. School principals decide what supplies are needed for their school, such as janitorial supplies or computers.

The board also approved restricted allocations for some schools in lieu of paying for water and sewage.

The board gave the green light to a motion to advertise for bids for telecommunication services and equipment for the E-Rate program. The E-Rate program is a government grant, and schools must advertise for specific equipment they need. The program assists schools in low-income areas in purchasing computer equipment.

The School Board said its official goodbyes to departing board member Mary Adams of District 5. She was defeated in her bid for re-election on Nov. 4 by Robert Boone. Adams said personal obligations would not permit her to attend the final board meeting of her tenure.

“It’s been a great experience,” Adams said. “Don’t forget our children.”

Board President Matthew Tate told Adams to call anytime with suggestions.

In personnel moves, the School Board:

• Approved Mount Hermon School bus operator Hattie Brumfield’s retirement;

• Approved resignations of Varnado High School teachers Michael Loper and Charlotte Ratcliff;

• Approved transfer of Mount Hermon School special education teacher Dorey Ball to Varnado High School and Franklinton District bus operator Junie Goings to Mount Hermon District;

• Hired Patricia Lott as Franklinton Elementary Literacy paraprofessional;

• Hired Lynn Kelly as Mount Hermon School teacher;

• Hired Susan Thomas as Varnado High School teacher; and

• Renewed the contract of Maintenance Supervisor William Brignac through Nov. 10, 2016.

Six Southeastern Louisiana University Education students from the area sat in on the proceedings Thursday. The students were Bogalusa’s Caitlynn Saucier, Bridget V. Pierce and Katelyn Jones, Angie’s Morgan Boone, Franklinton’s MaryKate Richardson and Folsom’s Presleigh Paden.