Legal community pays respects to recently departed at Court Opening

Published 9:24 am Monday, September 29, 2014

As has become a tradition, judges of the 22nd Judicial District took part in the Court Opening Ceremony recently at the Washington Parish Courthouse in Franklinton.

Judges of the 22nd Judicial District include Martin E. Coady, William J. Burris, Peter J. Garcia, Reginald T. Badeaux, Raymond S. Childress, August J. Hand, Richard A. Swartz Jr., Allison H. Penzato, Mary C. Devereux, Dawn Amacker, Scott Gardner and William J. Knight, who serves as chief judge.

As the ceremony began, all 12 district judges marched in and listened to members of the local bar association eulogize one of their own.

Joe Katt eulogized Emory Voorhies, while Judge Penzato eulogized C. T. Williams. John Gallaspy eulogized Julian J. “Porky” Rodrigue.

Special guests at the ceremony included Louisiana Supreme Court Justice Greg Guidry, Bogalusa City Court Judge Bobby Black, Will Crain of the 1st Circuit, and retired judges Elaine DiMicelli Guillot, Clayton James, Larry Green and Burrell Carter.

Richard Watts served as master of ceremonies.