Civic League installs new officers

Published 11:24 pm Sunday, May 12, 2013


It was a new day for Bogalusa Civic League with the installation of officers for 2013-14. Current officers JoAnne Polk, vice president; Shirley Evans, treasurer; and Jackie Martin, recording secretary, were seated at the head table. The meeting was pre-sided by outgoing president, Brenda Simon. Also seated at the head table were the Rev. Caleb Martin of Ben’s Ford Baptist Church, and Ginger Corkern, who installed the new officers.

President Brenda Simon welcomed the members and their guests, and after club business was discusses, she introduced Rev. Martin, who gave the blessing and a devotion.

Following a luncheon of shrimp and tuna salad accompanied by an antipasto salad and fresh fruit, the program began.

Simon introduced Corkern, who then led the installation. The new officers are: JoAnne Polk, president; Judith Marshall, vice president; Shirley Evans, treasurer; Joan Hortman, recording secretary; and Bonnie Fane Alford, corresponding secretary; and Leaudria Miller, chaplain.

Following the installation, Polk thanked Corkern for installing the new officers and for her service to the organization and presented her with a gift.

Polk spoke briefly saying it was an honor to be president and said she looked forward to a good year. At that time, Simon, as outgoing president, presented the gavel of office to Polk and turned over the meeting to her successor.

Polk present a gift to outgoing president Simon, who thanked everyone.

The next order of business was the presentation of gifts to those active members who, after five years of membership, were moving to sustaining membership. Each member was introduced and her hours of service given: Jolene Black, 298 hours; Larissa Papazian-Gregg, 763 hours; Jackie Martin, 932.5 hours; Brenda Simon, 1,858.5 hours; Donna Lee Trooskin, 1.120 hours; and Kim Wagner, 370.5 hours.

Several members were recognized for having 10 years membership in Civic League, and they moved from sustaining members to honorary members: Debbie Baughman, Bert Breland, Carol Duke, Eleanor Duke, Elizabeth Roberts, Sandy Schmidt and Barbara Spiers.

New members were introduced by Suzie Pittman, membership chair. They include Marsha Hunt Adams, Tamara Augustine, Katie “Kitty” Baker, Tiffany Carney, Sally Maples Champagne, Judy Easterling, Janice Hilaire, Peggye Smith Morris Huddleston, Brande Trenum and Carol Vacek.

At the end of the meeting, door prizes were awarded.

Members and guests attending, in addition to those mentioned above included Janice Adams, guest Beverly Haley, Helen Applewhite, Vaiden Barlow, Gwen Bates, Debbie Baughman, Katherine Bayard, Jolene Black, Patricia Branch, Beth Breland, Christi Brennan, Sue Carhart, Maria Dowdy, Pat Fannin, Lora Lynn Fendlason, Gloria Fortenberry, Rose Marie Gann, guest Judy Lyons, Kathy Grosche, Nell Herrington, Sharon R. Hoppen, Lynn Kennedy, Jenny Kersey, Sue Magee, guests Denise Ott, Lisa Restel and Bettye Wrangofski, Polly Martin, Rosemary Marx, Audrey McCain, Susan Merrick, Martha Moak, Wendy Perrette, Jo Porter, Joyce Puckett, Margaret Ryals, Pris Sampson, Lurtie Sanders, Sandy Schmidt, Beverly Sheridan, Barbara Spiers, Lisa Sprehe, Larisa Stewart, guest Valentina Soboleve, Rachael Stewart, Lilia Talley, Betty Thomas, Fran Thomas, JoAlyn Thomas, guests Barbara Lee and Mary Thomas, Violeta Thomas, Denise Tisdale, Samantha Verrett, Malinda White and Mary Beth Williams.