Pine’s Kennedy is 1st-team all-district player

Published 12:48 am Saturday, April 28, 2018

Pine’s Savannah Kennedy was named a first-team all-district player and several teammates were selected as all-district players in the 9-2A league.
Kennedy averaged 13.6 points per game in league play to go with seven rebounds for the Lady Raiders.
Pine’s Kaylyn Ginn is a second-team player. She put up 3.9 points per game, three assists per game and four rebounds per game during league competition this season.
Rania Crosby, Jasmine Crosby and Elizabeth Barber are all-district honorable mention players.
Raina Crosby tallied 7.1 points per game and six rebounds in district. Jasmine Crosby posted 3.6 points and two boards a contest. Barber averaged 3.9 points and two assists per game.
Pine reached the playoffs as the No. 23 seed, but lost to 10th-seeded Mansfield, 71-22, in the opening round of the postseason. Mansfield reached the regional round before falling to seventh-seeded Rayville, 44-37.
Northlake Christian School’s Aaron Agresta is the District 9-2A Coach of the Year.
Northlake Christian School’s Kyren Whittington and Amite’s Ania Johnson are District 9-2A co-Most Valuable Players.
Northlake Christian was the top-seeded team in the Division III playoffs, but lost in the quarterfinals to eighth-seeded St. Mary’s Academy, 62-57, in overtime. St. Mary’s reached the finals, but lost to sixth-seeded St. Katherine Drexel, 43-42.
Amite was the 15th-seeded team in Class 2A, but lost in the regionals to second-seeded Lake Arthur, 60-41. Lake Arthur made it to the finals, but lost to top-seeded North Caddo, 47-41.
In addition to Kennedy, the rest of the first team includes Northlake Christian School’s Natalie Newberry, Amite’s Whitney Franklin and Independence’s Ialiyah Preston.
The rest of the second team includes Amite teammates Makayla Batiste and Alesia Jackson, Northlake Christian School’s Kaitlyn Walker and Pope John Paul II’s Jessica Feraci.
The other honorable-mention all-district players are Northlake Christian School teammates KeraGrace Watts and DaNine Sorapuru, Independence’s Raniya Austin, Bianca Womack, La’Shira Washington Shekita Wells and Diamond Manuel, Amite’s Dawnisha Franklin, Acura Cryer, Brokela Coleman and Jaz’shynikea Hibbier.
Independence reached playoffs, as the 24th seed, but lost to No. 9 Winnfield, 68-40, in the first round. Winnfield made it to regionals before falling to eighth-seeded French Settlement, 63-54.